It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The books are cataloged according to a hybrid system of international standards: Anglo-American Cataloging Rules (AACR updated edition) and Resource Description and Access (RDA). They are then classified according to the Library of Congress (LC) Classification System:
They are placed in shelving areas according to their use and content:
Reference Collection includes:
Encyclopedia: Both general and specialized. Includes information sources on people, places, events, etc. in alphabetical or chronological order.
Dictionaries: general and specialized.
Geographical Sources: include atlases and gazetteers. Guidebooks on geographical sources should be in General Circulation.
Year books and Almanacs: include sources on trivia and curiosities, usually published annually.
Bibliographies and Bibliographical sources: Examples are bibliographical dictionaries or bibliographical directories.
Guides to the Literatures: both general and those which focus on a specific area or discipline or those which list sources of available information related to it (e.g. Sheehy’s Guide to Reference Books, An Annotated Bibliography of Feminist Criticism).
Indexes and Abstracts: all (e.g. Essay and General Literature Index. Short Story Criticism).
Non-bibliographical Directories: those which provide information about organizations, agencies, firms, clubs societies, associations, institutions, or official bodies (e.g. World of Learning).
Handbooks (Multi-volume): those which give information in narrative format as well as in tables, charts, graphs, symbols, formulas and equations. Only includes handbooks with more than 2 volumes. Otherwise, they are placed in General Circulation.
Manuals: Only writing manuals or style guides for certain particular popular writing formats (APA, MLA, Chicago, etc.) are placed in Reference. All other manuals are in general collection.
Concordances and Compilations of Quotations: a Concordance is an alphabetical index of the principal Works in the Bible or the works of an author, showing location in the text generally giving context and sometimes defining words (e.g. An Analytical Concordance to the Revised Standard Version of the New Testament).
Filipiniana Collection includes:
All book publications about the Philippines, its people and culture regardless of author, imprint, and language. Also include works dealing on the application of scientific thought and methodology to Philippines and local needs and circumstances.
Books written in Filipino and in the vernacular.
Generally, works written by Filipinos except:
Works by Benildean faculty, administrators and students whose original copies are relegated to the Archives.
Works and original research studies treating universally-accepted knowledge, such as chemistry, mathematics, physics, biology, etc.
Publications by Philippine corporate bodies, wherein the subject matter does not have anything to do with the Philippines. (Example: SGV, Doing Business in Malaysia, 1978.)
Publications containing only a small portion or chapter regarding the Philippines. However, analytics in the online catalog may still be provided for that portion or chapter related to the Philippines for optimum discoverability of users
Reference – Filipiniana Collection includes reference materials that are also considered Filipiniana materials.
Lasalliana Collection includes materials about St. La Salle and St. Benilde or other Lasallian Brothers, or those produced by Lasallian schools or that prominently feature any part of the history of the Lasallian tradition.
Materials which are for general use but typically cannot be shelved among the open shelves because of its nonstandard/non-typical format or size are placed in “Special Collection” shelving area, behind the Readers' Services circulation desk. Materials in special collection include kits, boardgames, flashcards, instructional 3D objects, books in ring binding, etc. Special Collection materials are for room use only.
Some collection of materials, when grouped and shelved separately with a distinctly named shelving location, not because of form, but of provenance (donor), may also be considered a "special collection". Examples are the Cervantes Collection and the Disability Collection.
Archives has records (including print, non-print and three dimensional) pertaining to the history of the College, which may include:
theses, dissertations, published articles and books by students and faculty
Video-in house tapes/recordings
General Circulation - this is the shelving location where books that do not belong to any of the categories above are placed.
General Circulation and Filipiniana Collection books can be borrowed for home-use.
Reference Collection and Reference-Filipiniana Collection books can only be borrowed for 3 hours within campus only for classroom use or for photocopy use.
Special Collections, Lasalliana Collection and Archives books are strictly for room use only.
There are about 300 print periodicals titles found in the LRC in three DLS-CSB campuses. The loose issues of periodicals are displayed on magazine cabinets, while daily newspaper issues are placed on newspaper racks. Complete bibliographic information about the periodicals/journals are encoded and reflected in the WorldCat Discovery for easy reference of the clienteles.
Past loose issues of magazines and journals can be borrowed for three (3) days.
Bound periodicals can be borrowed for three (3) days.
Current loose issues of magazines and journals can be borrowed for room use (3 hours) or for photocopy only.
Commericial DVDs, Maps, Visual Materials, VCDs can only be borrowed for classroom use.
Audio-CD and CD-ROM can be borrowed for home use for three (3) days.
DVD In-House can be borrowed for home use for three (3) days.
Please refer to our A-Z page to discover databases containing ebooks, ejournals and other electronic resources.